- All applicants must be at least 20 years of age and possess a valid North Carolina driver's license.
- All applicants must be in good physical condition and therefore able to perform assigned duties. Applicants will need to pass a rigid physical examination.
- All applicants must have normal vision or both eyes corrected to current minimum standards in each eye, including normal color and depth perception. Normal hearing ability is required.
Character and Morals
- All applicants must be of good moral character, clean habits, and free from evidence of intemperance.
- All applicants will undergo a background investigation and will cover all factors relating to the acceptability of the applicant.
- All applicants must be a high school graduate or have possession of an high school equivalency certificate issued by the N.C. State Board of Education or an adult high school diploma issued by the N.C. Department of Community Colleges.
- Basic Law Enforcement Training Certificate (BLET) is not a requirement.
- Completion of advanced degrees preferred.
Listed below are attributes that will automatically disqualify any application we receive. Applicants with any of these attributes may not reapply within the same application process and lateral applicants may not apply again for twelve (12) months.
- Any conviction for a crime for which the punishment could have been more than 2 years
- A conviction of 1 or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B misdemeanors within the preceding 5 years
- Conviction of 2 or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class A misdemeanors within the preceding 5 years
- Four or more crimes or unlawful acts at any time in life defined as Class A misdemeanors, except the applicant may be employed if the last conviction occurred more than 2 years prior to the date of an application for employment
- Four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B misdemeanors by the NC Training and Standards Commission regardless of the date of conviction
Any individual that has been named respondent and/or defendant in an active domestic violence protective order (50B Order) issued by a judge of a competent jurisdiction. All prior 50B Orders will be evaluated.
- Dishonorable discharge from the Armed Forces
- Behavior unsuitable or inappropriate for a police officer as determined by the chief of police
Residence RequirementThe applicant does not need to be a resident of North Carolina upon application. After employment, officers are required to maintain a residence within the department;s jurisdiction or be able to report to work from their residence within one hour.
- The suspension or revocation of driving privileges in any jurisdiction in the United States within the past two (2) years for any reason other than failure to pay fines and costs. All others will be evaluated.
- A DUI or DWI conviction within the past five (5) years
- Refusal to take a Chemical Analysis Test as required by the implied consent of law of any jurisdiction in the United States within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of application.
- Conviction of Eluding Police, Hit and Run, Vehicle Speed Competition, or Death by Vehicle in any jurisdiction at any time in life.
- Four (4) or more convictions of moving violations within the preceding seven (7) years.
- Mis-stated or false info during application
- Refusal to complete any step in the application process
- Fail entry level written exam
- Fail entry level physical abilities test
- Fail extensive background
- Fail panel interview
- Fail drug screen and medical
- Not suitable psychological screening
- Anything from NC CJ TS Commission
Demonstrated history of financial irresponsibility or current unsatifcatory credit rating as determined by the chief of police or designee. Examples include unsatisfied judgements, arrears child support, default on student loan, or failure to file income tax.
- Possession or use of marijuana or a derivative thereof within the twelve (12) months immediately preceding the date of application.
- Use of synthetic or designer drugs, steroids, opiates, pills, heroin, cocaine, crack, LDS, or methamphetamine in last ten (10) years. Does not include prescription medication.
- Possession with intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver at any time in life
- Other drug usage is evaluated for the extent of the use and how recent the use has been